TRAFFIC TICKETS

Traffic tickets in North Carolina are serious and could affect your driving record and insurance rates. North Carolina uses a unique point system that assigns points to certain traffic offenses within designated time frames. Therefore, you should consult a licensed attorney experienced in traffic matters about your ticket before you go into any courtroom. Allow The Law Office of Catherine Peebles, PLLC to assist you with your traffic needs

Attorney Peebles will:

  1. Appear in court on your behalf, your appearance will not be necessary;

  2. Negotiate with the ADA and judicial official in the courtroom to get the best possible outcome; and

  3. Pay all costs and fees before leaving court.

Here is a link to the full 2020 NC Driver’s Manual https://driving-tests.org/north-carolina/nc-dmv-drivers-handbook-manual/ which has a full list of traffic violation and the points that they accumulate. It is a full comprehensive guide to all licensing questions in the State of North Carolina.  

Convictions and Point Value

Some traffic violations are assigned license points that affect your insurance and eventually could affect your ability to have a North Carolina Driver’s License. If you accumulate seven points, you may be assigned to a driver improvement clinic, which will deduct three points from your license.  The fee for this clinic is $65. 

Your license will be suspended for a set amount of time depending on the amount of point suspensions you have.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Offenses that Automatically Suspend your License:

  • Two convictions of speeding over 55 mph within a period of 12 months;

  • One conviction of speeding over 55 mph and one conviction of reckless driving within a year;

  • A conviction of willful racing with another motor vehicle, whether it is prearranged or unplanned;

  • If you are driving at a speed higher than 55 mph; at least 30 days if you are convicted of driving more than 15 mph over the speed limit; and 

  • Second charge of speeding over 55 mph and more than 15 mph over the speed limit within one year; at least 60 days if you are convicted

 

 

Will My Insurance Suffer?

A spike in your insurance rate is something that most North Carolina drivers dread. North Carolina Department of Insurance uses the Safe Driver Incentive Plan to access how many license and insurance points your traffic conviction will provide.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

​​​


 

 
 
 

NUMBER OF SUSPENSION

LENGTH OF SUSPENSION

1st

60 days

2nd

6 months

3rd

12 months

POINT VALUE SYSTEM

INSURANCE POINT VALUE SYSTEM

DWI

Hit and run (Bodily Injury)

Prearranged highway racing

Reckless driving

Hit and run (Property damage)

Speeding in excess of 75 mph when the speed limit is less than 70 mph

Speeding in excess of 80 mph when the speed limit it 70 mph or higher

Passing a stopped school bus

Speeding more than 10 mph over the speed limit more than 55 and less than 76 mph

Speeding 10 mph over the speed limit and speed limit is 55 or over

12

12

12

4

4

4

4

4

2

2

Passing a stopped school bus

Aggressive driving

Reckless driving

Hit and run, property damage only

Following too closely

Driving on the wrong side of road

Illegal passing

Failure to yield right of way to pedestrian pursuant to G.S. 20-158 (b) (2) b. 

Failure to yield right of way to bicycle, motor scooter or motorcycle

Running through stop sign

Speeding in excess of 55mph

Failure to yield right of way

Running through red light

No driver license or license expired more than one year

Failure to stop for siren

5

5

4

4

4

4

4

4

4

3

3

3

3

3

3

Driving through safety zone

No liability insurance

Failure to report accident where such report is required

Speeding in a school zone in excess of the posted school zone speed limit

Failure to properly restrain a child in a restraint or seat belt

All other violations

Littering pursuant to G.S. 14-399 when the littering involves the use of a motor vehicle

3

3

3

3

2

2

1

There are special cases that points are not accessed by the insurance companies. These moments are:

  • If you were involved in an accident, all of these must be true:

    • There is only property damage;

    • The damage amounts to $2,300 or less;

    • You are not also convicted of a moving violation in conjunction with the crash; and

    • No licensed drivers in your household have moving violation convictions or any involvement in at-fault accidents during the experience period.

  • Speeding 10 MPH or less over the speed limit, if all of these are true:

    • The offense did not take place in a school zone; and

    • You do not have another moving violation for the experience period.

POINT INCREASE CHART

12

340% increase

10

8

4

3

2

1

260% increase

195% increase

80% increase

60% increase

45% increase

30% increase

  • Your household is allowed to have 1 Prayer for Judgment Continued (PJC) every 3 years.

    • Please note a subsequent PJC within the time frame from any person on the family’s insurance policy may result in points.

  • If your violation did not occur in the school zone and there is not another moving violation for the experience period (usually 3 years) then there will be no SDIP points accessed.

Saving Your License 

Keeping you on the road is our priority! Book your consultation and let’s talk about your traffic violation.

GET IN TOUCH

Court
Quiet Desk

​​​​By Jasmine Bryant. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Instagram